2007 Inductees

EAST LIVERPOOL -- Inductees for the 2007 Lou Holtz/Upper Ohio Valley Hall of Fame have been selected and will be honored at a ceremony and banquet Friday, June 22. A golf outing with Coach Holtz is scheduled the following day and will benefit both the Hall of Fame and St. Aloysius School.

This year's Hall of Fame inductees include:

Rose Angelica, a Steubenville/Mingo Junction native who has been the heart and soul of the Dean Martin Festival and an advocate for music education in schools throughout the Upper Ohio Valley. She attended The Ohio State University, where she was a member of the world-famous Ohio State Marching Band and traveled the United States with the Buckeyes and Coach Woody Hayes to many bowl games and parades. She remains on its Board of Governors today, performing with the OSU Alumni Band on a regular basis. She taught school for 30 years and is a music consultant for Gerrero Music Store in Wheeling. A private trumpet and guitar instructor for 32 years, she is also the bugler for the Steubenville American Legion and plays at many city events. An OMEA judge for the State of Ohio, she judges many band contests nationally.

The late Hans Hacker, a German-born artist who came to East Liverpool in 1933 to work for a local decal company and produced many oils and watercolors of area landmarks that depict nearly 200 years of local history. Hacker was entranced with the scenic hills, the beautiful Ohio River and the quaint buildings of this area. A graduate of the Breslau Art School in Germany, he became a leading designer in the decal industry, serving as art and technical director of the specialty division at Commercial Decal in East Liverpool. He received awards from the Butler Institute in Youngstown and other art shows and was honored as the East Liverpool Historical Society's Man of the Year in 1985. He died in 1994.

Steubenville High School's Coach Reno Saccoccia, one of the most successful high school football coaches in the Upper Ohio Valley, having just completed two 15-0 seasons and back-to-back state championships. Saccoccia joined the Big Red staff in 1977 under Head Coach Bill Bohren, taking over as head coach in 1983. Since then he has amassed a 245-45 overall record, including a 36-14 mark in 17 playoff appearances, three state championships, two runners-up and six other semi-final games. Big Red has had ten undefeated regular season under Saccoccia. He has been named the Upper Ohio Valley Dapper Dan's Man of the Year twice and has been the Ohio Valley Athletic Conference's Coach of the Year a record-setting three times. He also has been named the Associated Press Coach of the Year three times.

And Ray Trevelline, known fondly as the original Hot Dog Shoppe man. Trevelline has contributed quietly to countless area projects and most notably, purchased the Travelers Hotel and recently reopened its dining room as the Crockery City Café. Of his accomplishments, he cites most proudly the years he has spent mentoring countless Tri-State Area youth as they worked their first jobs at the Hot Dog Shoppe. A man with a deep faith and a love of hard work, he has impressed upon generations of young people the importance of doing an admirable job and being a good employee rather than just being employed and taking a paycheck.

Also to be inducted is Distinguished AmericanMichael Leep Sr. of South Bend, Ind., who is a major supporter of the Hall of Fame and numerous charities in Notre Dame circles. Entering the automobile industry in 1967 as a salesman, he went on to partner with Van Gurley and developed 20 dealerships employing 1,200 people. He sits on the board of many charitable organizations, and among his humanitarian awards are the Lee Slaughter Award, the College Football Hall of Fame Distinguished American Award, the Michiana Chapter National Society of Fundraising Corporate Philanthropist Award, 2002 TIME Magazine Quality Dealer Award, honorary membership in the Monogram Club of Notre Dame, the Health Communities Initiative Vision Award for Business, the 2003 Helping Hands Award for the Center for Hospice and Palliative Care of St. Joseph County and the 2003 Herman Goodin Civic Service Award.

The Family Heritage Award will be presented to the Hoppel Family of East Liverpool. From "farm boys" in Calcutta to six individual state championships in wrestling and numerous other titles held by their children and grandchildren, the Hoppels have been deeply involved in community activities for more than 70 years. Herman Hoppel was integral in the building of the East Liverpool High School Alumni Association's Clock Tower; Jim Hoppel serves as Columbiana County Commissioner; Carl Hoppel assisted in transporting much of Coach Lou Holtz's memorabilia from South Carolina to the Hall of Fame; David Hoppel has provided trucks and manpower to set up for the massive ELHS all-school reunions; and fifth brother Darryl Hoppel won state wrestling championships in 1954 and 1955. The family holds the Everett Hoppel Memorial Wrestling tournament annually at Beaver Local High School to honor their late father, who was killed in an industrial accident Sept. 30, 1977.

A special VIP recognition reception is to be held at 6:30 p.m. at the Hall of Fame at 120 E. Fifth St. for current and past inductees and those purchasing tickets in the preferred seating Golden Circle for $50. Tickets for the banquet only will be $25. The dinner is at 7:30 p.m. at the East Liverpool Motor Lodge. A silent auction will be held at the banquet. Tickets are available at the Hall of Fame from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Mondays through Fridays and 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Saturdays. Tickets are also available at the Steubenville Convention and Visitor's Bureau at Old Fort Steuben.

Also planned at 7:30 p.m. Friday, June 22, is the dinner to recognize 2007 recipients of the Lou Holtz Life Improvement Scholarship Award. It will be held in dining facilities located in the former Traveler's Hotel building on E. Fourth Street, East Liverpool.

The golf tournament is to be held at Turkana Golf Course in Calcutta on Saturday, June 23, featuring cash prizes of $1,500 for first place, $800 for second, $400 for third and $100 each for fourth, fifth and sixth places. There is a new car hole-in-one contest and $100 cash prizes offered for one longest drive and four closest to pin. Additional prizes are available.

Registration is at 7:30 a.m. with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start. Participation in the four-man scramble is limited to 36 teams. Men and women golfers are welcome, and the event will be held rain or shine. The $100 a person fee entitles a player to 18 holes of golf, a cart, continental breakfast, beverages, lunch and awards. Registration forms are available at the Hall of Fame, the Steubenville Convention and Visitor's Bureau at Old Fort Steuben and Turkana.

Those with questions about the upcoming events may contact the Hall of Fame at 386-5443.